Technical Advisory Committee

About the Committee

Established in 2014 by Senate Bill 1077, the Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is a diverse, 15 member committee that made road charge pilot program investigation, design, and evaluation recommendations to CalSTA and Caltrans.


  • Held 12 public meetings throughout the state
  • Gathered input from over 400 stakeholder groups and every elected official representing California
  • Conducted surveys and focus groups to better gauge understanding of transportation funding and public opinion of current roadway conditions and a new funding model

Senate Bill 1328 extended the Road Charge TAC operations until January 1, 2023, and it is continuing to gather public comment.


Committee Roster Organization Title
Lucy Dunn (Chair) California Transportation Commission Commissioner
(PDF) Stephen Finnegan (Vice Chair) Automobile Club of Southern California Manager of Public Affairs & Government Affairs
(PDF) David Chiu California Assembly Assembly member
(PDF) Eric Sauer California Tracking Association Sr. Vice-President of Government Affairs
(PDF) Jim Madaffer Public Member President of Madaffer Enterprises
(PDF) Jim Beall California Senate Senator
(PDF) Lee Tien Electronic Frontier Foundation Senior Attorney
(PDF) Lisa Bartlett Orange County Board of Supervisors Supervisor
(PDF) Loren Kaye Foundation for Commerce & Education President
(PDF) Martin Wachs UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs Professor Emeritus of Urban Planning
(PDF) Pam O'Connor Public Member
(PDF) Richard Marcantonio Public Advocates, Inc. Managing Attorney
(PDF) Robert Poythress County of Madera Supervisor
(PDF) Susan Ornelas City of Arcata Mayor
(PDF) Terry Benzel USC Information Sciences Institute Director

For more information about the TAC, contact:

Garth Hopkins
Deputy Director - Planning
California Transportation Commission
Phone: (916) 653-3148